Shouting & Shuffling

Think those words more or less sum up the last week in the accidental household:

Biff phoned me Saturday morning with some of the worst news cat lovers can share: “Daisy has gone missing!” If Daisy is out more than 10 minutes at a time, and can’t be seen from the kitchen window, something is amiss. It seems there had been a scuffle in the night that Biff had turned a blind ear to in the belief that it was a rodent assassination. However given the absence of Daisy, poor Bill was suspected of foul play.

daisy with bill

daisy with bill

There had been lots of other plans for the weekend, but everything put on hold whilst we searched for her. Over the next couple of days we did endless circuits of the estate, variously rattling boxes of treats, wafting the aroma of recently cooked fish, and in desperation putting up posters. Although my thoughts inevitably turned to the people who do awful things to cats, the people we met over the weekend were without exception absolutely lovely. Its an odd claim to fame but I believe by the end of the weekend I’d looked into and under more or less every shed on the estate. Realised just how many people around here have cats and care about them. Special thanks to the neighbour who spotted Daisy at gone midnight on Saturday and came over to let Biff know. That really gave us hope for Sunday’s search.

daisy in a more relaxed moment

daisy in a more relaxed moment

I suspect I was shouting “Daisy” in my sleep that night. As to the “shuffling” …. Bill was exiled to my bedroom on Sunday just in case he stood guilty as charged with upsetting Daisy. I’m used to new furry people coming to stay … its like a hotel here – stacks of dishes, litter trays, beds etc. It’s surprising how odd it feels to have Biff’s boy to stay though.

bill

bill

Thankfully Daisy turned up in the early hours of Monday morning. She’s not said what happened or where she’s been but she’s very frightened. She crawled under the bed covers and hid for a couple of days, then progressed to hiding under the throw on the sofa. Bill still in exile in my bedroom, and thoughts of him staying here long term. If he’s got any plans for bullying he’ll have them knocked out of him by my gang.

The other half of the shuffle is that we’re hoping that my Mog might move in with Biff and Daisy. Two timid girlies together might work out, once Daisy has had chance to settle from her ordeal.

It’s slightly happier news about Mog today. Thanks to Sheffield Forum we’ve found a lovely woman who will let us onto the allotments to find and feed Mog, and several kind people who know her on there have taken my number should she be in any trouble and need me. So we’ve been on there shouting “Mog .. Mooo .. og ….. Mo og” for a second time this week. It took more shouting than earlier in the week, but she came from more or less the same place and was fine. Not so hungry as last time, but had her picnic with us and purred a bit. Either she’s an excellent hunter or someone is feeding her. Thanks to some lovely people out there she’s going to be ok until we can find something more permanent for her.

my precious girl

my precious girl

mog on  allotment3

Categories: diary, my cats | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.